Thursday, August 3, 2017

The Led Zeppelin Podcast, Episodes 131 & 132

Over the last two podcasts I looked back on Led Zeppelin's 1977 tour of America which ended in violence in San Fransisco and then tragedy back in England with the death of Robert Plant's son, Karak.

Episode 131 of The Led Zeppelin Podcast starts before the tour even began, with Robert Plant developing laryngitis and a number of shows having to be cancelled, and runs through to the 6-show residency at New York's Madison Square Garden.

Episode 132 of The Led Zeppelin Podcast picks up with the end of the second leg of the tour when the band moves from the East coast to the West. Shows in San Diego and then another 6-night run, this time at The Forum in Los Angeles draw the second leg of the tour to an end.  It then picks up in Seattle for the final leg of the tour, which would end after only four shows.

In researching this tour, I used a number of sources, most notably Dave Lewis' Led Zeppelin: The Concert File.

I also mentioned on part II that there is a full, professionally shot, multi camera video of the Seattle show on July 17. Here is it:

You can download the podcast at Podbean or Spreaker. If you go to Spreaker, be sure to follow the episode.

You can also subscribe on iTunes. If you subscribe via iTunes, be sure to leave a review.

Ramble on Radio is now also available on Stitcher Radio.

--> For certified professional guitar repair in Cambridge Ontario: Brian Gardiner Guitar Repair

Wednesday, August 2, 2017

New Black Country Communion Song Available Now

Black Country Communion, is premiering a song from their upcoming album BCCIV this morning. Collide is the opening track on the new album, and can be heard on Joe Bonamassa's Soundcloud.

Glenn Hughes commented on Collide:

I had written the riff to this song in the morning of the first day of writing BCCIV. Joe came over and I played him the riff, and we finished the song before lunch. I had a feeling that Collide would set the pace for the record.

The album, BCCIV, will get a worldwide release on CD and 2-LP vinyl (including a cool looking orange vinyl) on September 22. The tracklistiing is:

1. Collide
2. Over My Head
3. The Last Song For My Resting Place
4. Sway
5. The Cove
6. The Crow
7. Wanderlust
8. Love Remains
9. Awake
10. When the Morning Comes

As well, the vinyl release will include a bonus track, With You I Go.

As well, the band has announced two UK in January. Details can be found at their official website.

Black Country Communion features Jason Bonham on drums, Joe Bonamassa on guitar and vocals, Glenn Hughes on bass and vocals and Derek Sheridan on keyboards. BCCIV is their fourth studio album, and fifth album in total.


For certified professional guitar repair in Cambridge Ontario: Brian Gardiner Guitar Repair